Tazewell County Sheriff’s Office – Communications Division

315 School Street, Suite 9
Tazewell, VA  24651

Dispatch 24/7
Voice:(276) 988-0645
Fax: (276) 988-5012

Derrick Ruble, Director of 911 & Emergency Communications
Email Me
Voice: 276-385-1727
Fax: 276-988-5012

Shannon Yost, Chief Dispatcher
Email Me
Voice: 276-988-0914
Fax: 276-988-5012

911 Service was implemented in Tazewell County on April 23, 1997.  The Communications Division (911 Center), a Division of the Tazewell County Sheriff's Office, an Accredited Virginia Law Enforcement Agency,  is responsible for dispatching 6 law enforcement agencies, 17 fire departments, 6 rescue squads, search & rescue, and Emergency Management for Tazewell County and its five incorporated Towns.

The Communications Division is comprised of the following Sworn Communications Officers under Sheriff Brian Hieatt; a Director of 911 & Emergency Communications, Chief Dispatcher, 4 Shift Supervisors, 12 Full-Time Dispatchers, 5 Part-Time Dispatchers, and a Warrants Clerk.  In 2014 the Communications Division processed 106,157 emergency and non-emergency phone calls, 41,903 incidents, and over 900,000 radio transmissions.  The Communications Division is considered one of the largest and busiest Public Safety Answering Points (PSAP) in Southwest Virginia.

The Communications Division is a highly progressive agency in the adoption of new technologies and services, is a Virginia Accredited Emergency Medical Dispatch Communications Center, a Project Lifesaver participant, and is recognized by the National Center for Missing & Exploited Children as a participant in the Missing Kids & 9-1-1 Readiness Project.

Questions and requests for information regarding 911 Services can be made to the Director or Chief Dispatcher. Please visit the Sheriff's Office Facebook page at www.facebook.tazewellcountysheriff for regular updates.

Addressing of County residences and businesses is handled by the Addressing Coordinator and can be reached at (276) 385-1211.

updated so front